top of page
Blog

The ebb and flow

Or, "how to avoid commuting like a sucker."

Living in Atlanta, traffic is a problem. No one bothered to update the infrastructure to keep up with a blooming population, so now we’re all fucked. With this knowledge, the last thing I want to do each morning is carve out an extra hour+ in order to travel less than 7 miles. I can’t even wait in lines at Chipotle, let alone get trapped in bumper to bumper traffic. Trust me when I say, I don’t have time or the slightest semblance of patience to deal with this daily inconvenience.

Other things I ‘ain’t got time for’ include showering every morning, hair and makeup, worrying about a wardrobe, and pre-emptively packing meals, all for the purpose of going out and sitting somewhere else for at least 8 hours. I don’t want to work for someone else, warming a seat and completing mundane tasks in an uncomfortable environment. I don’t desire to have obligatory social interactions with coworkers I hate, repeating that my weekend “was fine,” 20 times a week. I’m not interested in watching those hours drip past slowly, perusing the internet while feeling unengaged and anxious to go live my real life.

I’ve had the office lifestyle before, and it was a colossal waste of time and energy. Further, I now recognize that if I am going to be creatively-minded, there’s no way I can subscribe to this heartless mental prison from 9-5.

That’s why I planned ahead. Before I moved to ATL, I found several remote avenues to make money that would be transferable with the relocation. These online jobs cover my monthly student loans and basic bills, and therefore relieve some pressure on my painting business to be profitable on an impractical time frame. I can continue to create because I want to, rather than forcing out uninspired pieces for basic bitches to pay my cellphone bill. I can stay home and arrange my days as needed; following my brain if it leads me towards designing, thrifting, or completing arduous computer work.

By no means all-inclusive, here’s a brief listing of resources where I’ve had luck finding consistent, livable incomes online:

  • Craigslist. There are often 100% online jobs posted, especially in the Writing/Editing category.

  • The pros: prevalence. It’s THE website for weird gigs, and there are always a ton of listings. Also, since it is a remote job, you can search an infinite number of distant locations on the hunt for listings. For instance, one of the jobs I took was posted in Jacksonville, Florida, while I was living in central Illinois.

  • The cons: the cons. Of course, don’t randomly send your important info to these unknown companies! Do your research before you engage, and be on the lookout for anything that could be spam. Is the post entirely in CAPS? Don’t answer. Does the ad seem too good to be true? Is the posting in broken English? Is it posted several times over the past two weeks? Just don’t answer.

  • RatRaceRebellion. Find a huge array of remote positions with verified employers, online or via regular email update.

  • The pros: they’ve done the work for you. Sign up for their newsletter, and receive updates when large companies are having a push for remote workers. Browse the website and find hundreds of positions with reputable companies all in one place. There is a huge variety of positions available. Jobs can range from pet sitting, to artistry and design, to virtual administration. No matter what you’re into, there’s something for everyone!

  • The cons: competition. Since it is so easy to access this attractive job information, it’s harder to get noticed. Especially once the notice goes out that a large hiring event is taking place via the widespread newsletter… it can be tricky to stand out from the crowd. There are a ton of applicants for online jobs, and many of the positions are actually very difficult and specialized. Also, the website could use an update; for today’s standards it’s a little jank.

  • Flexjobs. A well-known job board that works to collect promising remote job prospects from highly regarded companies.

  • Pros: safety. You know what you’re getting when you take their advice and apply for a job. The company is widely respected and works diligently to keep you safe. Flexjobs actually has a perfect BBB rating and superb customer service; it seems as if they truly want you to succeed. The website is clean and easy to use, and every business has been hand-verified for security. They also offer an email update subscription, which will notify you if new jobs are posted that align with your personal career interests. You have a personal search dashboard, which helps to keep your prospects and applications clean and organized.

  • Cons: it costs. Unfortunately this one isn’t free. It costs annually, with an easy membership fee of $35. Luckily, this fee is fully refundable if you aren’t happy with the services.

Here’s where I haven’t had luck earning real money:

  • Upwork. Not a fan. You need an impossible amount of experience to get any jobs… which you can only get by having an impossible amount of experience. I also had a scam-attempt through this site once and haven’t been back since.

  • Amazon. I know that plenty of people work for Amazon remotely, either as a customer service rep or mechanical turk. I have not attempted customer service positions as I presume they are less flexible than I want. As a turk, however, I can tell you I’m not inspired to earn my paycheck $.01 at a time.

  • Surveymonkey, GlobalTestMarket, and so many other survey sites. I’ve tried, I’ve taken any survey thrown my way, and I’ve been kicked out of surveys after answering tens of questions. Eventually you’ll learn how to lie about demographic info to keep them interested in your answers, but even after completing dozens of surveys, you’ll be lucky to earn a $10 Amazon gift card.

All in all, it’s definitely hit or miss when it comes down to getting a stable online job. There is a lot of uncertainty, and many of the positions are too good to be true. Its nerve wracking and difficult to work at home, but securing a reliable position was the first step to freeing myself from the moral-killing traditional work week. It allows me to devote attention to my dog, myself, my home, and my creativity without making major sacrifices. I know that this is the lifestyle and schedule that works best for me and my creative work. It might work better for you, too.

Next time; honest concerns when working from home.

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • White Twitter Icon
Related Posts
bottom of page